Three Semifinalists for President of South Central College Named

Posted: February 15, 2013

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

Campus visits scheduled for February 20-22

ST. PAUL, Minn. - Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU) has named three semifinalists who are under consideration to be president of South Central College. The candidates are David Hellmich, Lisa Larson, and Annette Parker.

David Hellmich

The candidates were recommended by a search advisory committee comprised of students, faculty, staff and community leaders and chaired by Jim Johnson, president of Minnesota State College - Southeast Technical. The candidates are scheduled to visit the campuses of South Central College between February 20 and 22, 2013. The campus visits present an opportunity for faculty, staff, students and members of the community to meet and offer feedback on each of the candidates.

David Hellmich has served as the vice president of academics at Bluegrass Community and Technical College (KY) since June, 2006. Previously, he was the dean of instruction at South Central College from 2000-2006; dean of educational services and director of institutional effectiveness at Anoka-Ramsey Community College from 1997-2000; and the director of institutional research and planning at Santa Fe Community College (FL) from 1988-1997. He has served on the faculty of Santa Fe Community College, Indiana University, St. Mary’s University of Minnesota, and the University of Kentucky as well as secondary schools in Florida and Minnesota. He holds a bachelor’s degree in English Composition from DePauw University (IN), a master’s in American Literature from Indiana University, and a doctorate in Higher Education Administration from the University of Florida in Gainesville. Hellmich will visit the South Central College campuses on Friday, February 22: Lisa LarsonNorth Mankato in the morning and Faribault in the afternoon.

Lisa Larson has served at Hennepin Technical College since 2007 as the vice president for academic and student affairs and the vice president for academic affairs. Previously, she was the dean of business and industry at Lake Superior College from 2004-2007; the dean of construction, manufacturing & transportation at Hennepin Technical College from 2000-2004; and the general education coordinator at Dakota County Technical College from 1999-2000. She has served on the faculty of Hennepin Technical College and Minneapolis Business College. She holds a bachelor’s degree in Secondary Education/Speech Communication/Political Science from Northern State University, a master’s degree in Speech Communication/Industrial Relations from Minnesota State University, Mankato, and a doctorate in Educational Leadership from St. Mary’s University of Minnesota. Larson will visit the campuses of South Central College on Thursday, February 21: North Mankato in the morning and Faribault in the afternoon.

Annette Parker has served at the Annette ParkerKentucky Community & Technical College System since 2007 as the system executive director, National Center of Excellence in Advanced Automotive Manufacturing and the system director, Workforce Education. Previously, she was the department chair, Manufacturing Engineering Technologies at Lansing Community College from 2002-2007. She has served on the faculty of Lansing Community College teaching college students, corporate employees, and dual-enrolled K-12 students. She holds an associate degree in Industrial Drafting from Lansing Community College, a bachelor’s degree in Technical Education and a master’s degree in Career and Technical Education from Ferris State University (MI), and a doctorate in Educational Leadership from Western Kentucky University. Parker will visit the campuses of South Central College on Wednesday, February 20: North Mankato in the morning and Faribault in the afternoon.

The MnSCU Board of Trustees is expected to act on Chancellor Steven Rosenstone’s recommendation on a final candidate at its March 20 meeting. The new president is expected to begin in July 2013.

Minnesota's 31 state community and technical colleges, and universities serve more than 430,000 students across the state.