Posted: April 8, 2008

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

The Board of Trustees Candidate Advisory Council voted last Friday to recommend 13 candidates to Governor Pawlenty for appointment to the Board of Trustees of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities. Four seats on the Board of Trustees have terms that expire June 30, 2008; one in the 4th congressional district, one in the 7th congressional district, and two at-large.

Over the past two months, members of the Trustee Candidate Advisory Council have recruited, screened, and interviewed candidates. Forty-one applications were received before the February 28th deadline. These applications were carefully reviewed and the council selected 21 applicants for interviews. Of those interviewed, council members voted to recommend the following 13 candidates to the Governor for appointment to the Board of Trustees (in alphabetical order):

Fourth Congressional District: Robert Brown, Cheryl Dickson and Deborah Montgomery

Seventh Congressional District: Dean Anderson and David Paskach

At-Large: Bernice Belgarde, Jon Eckhoff, Clarence Hightower, Patricia Krueger, Charles Kyte, Charles MacLean, Dennis Miller and Jerry Williams

In 1991, the Legislature merged all Minnesota public higher education institutions, except the University of Minnesota, into what is known as the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities system.