Posted: February 5, 2008

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

Awards recognizing excellence in financial and facilities management leadership and teamwork at the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities were presented recently at the system's Chief Financial and Facilities Officers meeting in St. Paul.

The awards program, which began in 1997, publicly recognizes the outstanding contributions of the system's college and university employees who work in finance and facilities management.

"These awards honor the leadership, innovation and creativity that our managers in finance and facilities contribute to our colleges and universities across the state," said Laura M. King, the system's vice chancellor and chief financial officer. "They work hard to increase efficiency and enhance the assets of our system, and we know their hard work pays off for our students and the people of Minnesota."

The award winners were selected from nominations made by presidents and college and university leadership. The awards and their recipients are:

Excellence in Financial Management 2007 awards are given for significant contributions to increased efficiency and effectiveness of finances and administrative services throughout the institution. This year's winners are Hennepin Technical College; Minneapolis Community and Technical College; Minnesota State University, Mankato; St. Cloud State University; St. Cloud Technical College and Winona State University.

Excellence in Facilities Management 2007 awards are given for successful and timely completion of capital improvement and repair projects, increased efficiency and effectiveness of space use throughout the institution and customer service excellence to students, staff and faculty. This year's winners are Dakota County Technical College; Minnesota State University, Mankato; Minnesota State University Moorhead; Riverland Community College; Saint Paul College and St. Cloud Technical College.

Outstanding Service 2007 awards are given to individuals who demonstrated outstanding contributions toward furthering professionalism in financial management. The winners are Jerry Winans, Bemidji State University; Larry Margolis, Inver Hills Community College; Mark Rice, Minnesota State University Moorhead and Gary Adams, Lake Superior College.