Posted: July 18, 2007

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees on Wednesday approved a new interstate tuition reciprocity agreement with Wisconsin.

The new agreement, which will continue to allow Wisconsin and Minnesota residents to attend public colleges and universities in either state without paying out-of-state tuition rates, takes effect beginning with new students who enroll in fall 2008. The new agreement will not be final until all parties in Minnesota and Wisconsin have approved it. That approval is expected later this year.

"We're grateful that this new agreement has been worked out for the benefit of Minnesota and Wisconsin students. Now, they can continue to select the public college or university in these states that best fits their needs without paying higher nonresident rates," said Chancellor James H. McCormick.

A change in the current agreement was negotiated by officials of the two states after Minnesota officials raised concerns about the fairness of the current arrangement. Under the current arrangement, Wisconsin residents pay $178 to $1,048 less than Minnesota residents to attend one of the seven state universities.

"We appreciate the cooperation of the Wisconsin leaders and their commitment to resolving this matter," McCormick said.

In the 2005-2006 academic year, about 13,595 Minnesota students and 11,418 Wisconsin students participated in the reciprocity program.