Posted: June 21, 2007

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

Students will pay an average of $146 more a year in tuition to attend Minnesota State Colleges and Universities this fall and 22 institutions will charge the same tuition rate for resident and non-resident students under a budget approved Wednesday by the system's Board of Trustees.

The increases bring the average tuition to $5,398 for a full-time state university student and $4,001 for a full-time two-year college student in the 2007-2008 academic year. Overall, tuition for the system's 32 colleges and universities will rise an average of 3.6 percent. Under the package approved by the board, tuition and fee increases at all the colleges and universities will rise an average of 3.7 percent.

"We are concerned about the impact of tuition increases on our students," said Board Chair David Paskach. "Trustees decided earlier this year that we would hold tuition increases to an average of 4 percent, and because we had strong funding support from the Legislature and the governor, we were able to come in under that. We're also looking at even lower tuition increases for the 2008-2009 academic year."

The board directed Chancellor James H. McCormick to report to the board in January on how the budget would be affected if tuition increases were held to 2 percent or less at the colleges and 3 percent or less at the universities for the 2008-2009 academic year.

McCormick said, "I know this board is interested in finding a way to ease the tuition burden for students even more, and this action gives us time to look for ways we can reduce our costs without harming the quality of our academic offerings."

The tuition package approved by the board also expanded the number of colleges and universities that do not charge a higher tuition rate to non-resident students. Previously, 11 colleges and universities charged a higher rate to all non-resident students.

The 22 colleges and universities that will charge the same rate to non-resident and resident students are: Alexandria Technical College; Anoka Technical College; Central Lakes College in Brainerd and Staples; Century College in White Bear Lake; Hennepin Technical College in Brooklyn Park and Eden Prairie; Inver Hills Community College in Inver Grove Heights; Minneapolis Community and Technical College; Minnesota State Community and Technical College in Detroit Lakes, Fergus Falls, Moorhead and Wadena; Minnesota West Community and Technical College in Canby, Granite Falls, Jackson, Pipestone and Worthington; Normandale Community College in Bloomington; North Hennepin Community College in Brooklyn Park; Northland Community and Technical College in East Grand Forks and Thief River Falls; Northwest Technical College in Bemidji; Ridgewater Community College in Hutchinson and Willmar; Riverland Community College in Albert Lea and Austin; Rochester Community and Technical College; Saint Paul College; St. Cloud Technical College; South Central College in Faribault and Mankato; Bemidji State University; Minnesota State University Moorhead and Southwest Minnesota State University in Marshall.

Expanding the number of colleges and universities that charge one rate was made possible by a $5 million appropriation from the Legislature.

Note: A list of annual tuition and fees for 2007-2008 is attached.