Posted: February 16, 2007

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

Awards recognizing leadership and team effort for excellence in financial and facilities management of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities were presented recently at the Chief Financial and Facilities Officers meeting in Minneapolis.

The awards program, which began in 1997, publicly recognizes the significant contributions and outstanding efforts of the system's colleges, universities and employees. Facilities management awards were added in 1999.

"These award winners have improved services to students and staff at a time we are experiencing increasingly tight budget constraints. In all cases, their work is exemplary, and something that all Minnesotans can take pride in," said Laura M. King, vice chancellor and chief financial officer for the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities.

The award winners were selected from nominations made by presidents and college and university leadership. The awards and their recipients are:

Excellence in Financial Management 2006 awards are given for significant contributions to increased efficiency and effectiveness of finances and administrative services throughout the institution. This year's winners are Anoka-Ramsey Community College, Central Lakes College, Hennepin Technical College, Minneapolis Community and Technical College, Minnesota State University, Mankato, Riverland Community College, South Central College, St. Cloud State University, St. Cloud Technical College and Winona State University.

Excellence in Facilities Management 2006 awards are given for successful and timely completion of capital improvement and repair projects, increased efficiency and effectiveness of space use throughout the institution and customer service excellence to students, staff and faculty. This year's winners are Central Lakes College, Dakota County Technical College, Hennepin Technical College, Metropolitan State University, Minnesota State University, Mankato, Ridgewater College, Riverland Community College, South Central College and St. Cloud Technical College.

Outstanding Service 2006 awards are given to individuals who demonstrated outstanding contributions toward furthering professionalism in financial management. The winners are Dave Marshall, Northeast Higher Education District - Vermilion Community College; David Crockett, Minnesota State University Moorhead; Judy Enright, Riverland Community College; Kari Christiansen, Central Lakes College; Lori Kloos, St. Cloud Technical College; Matt Sheppard, Minnesota State Community and Technical College; Paul DeMuth, Dakota County Technical College; Russ Berndt, South Central College; Steven W. Smith, Minnesota State University, Mankato; William Maki, Jr., Bemidji State University and Hennepin Technical College (team award).

Office of the Chancellor Award 2006 is given to an individual who demonstrated team spirit, leadership, outstanding service to staff, students, the institutions and the system, and achievements beyond the call of duty. The winner is Diane Paulsen, vice president for administrative services at Hennepin Technical College.