Posted: June 1, 2005

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

Faculty and staff of seven colleges and universities received awards for outstanding achievement from the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees at its May meeting.

The third annual academic and student affairs awards were presented in four categories to honor excellent leadership, curriculum planning, academic innovation and collaboration at colleges and universities across the system. Winners were chosen from among 40 programs and administrators nominated for the awards.

"We have a rich reservoir of talent in this system," said Chancellor James H. McCormick. "And, each year, we recognize just a few of the many excellent programs, faculty and administrators. Let there be no doubt, however, that the creativity and hard work of these winners made a demonstrable difference for their institutions and their communities."

Two awards were given for the outstanding academic and student affairs administrator. This award is for college or university administrators who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and made significant contributions to the development of academic or student affairs programming at their institution. The winners:

  • Barbara Mollberg, dean of general education, Rochester Community and Technical College
  • Jane Foote, associate dean of dental and nursing programs, Minneapolis Community and Technical College

Two programs received the award of excellence in curriculum programming. This recognition was awarded to programs that demonstrate a high rate of employment, transfer or enrollment in graduate school after graduation; make effective use of technology; generate extramural support or funding; involve collaboration with other college or university departments, employers or community members; and reach out to diverse subgroups. The winners:

  • Mathematics Learning Center, Minnesota State University Moorhead
  • Nonprofit Leadership Certificate Program, Minnesota State University, Mankato

Three programs were recognized for innovation in student affairs programming. This award recognizes those programs that use new ideas, methods or techniques that result in improved educational or developmental activities, services or management for a college or university community; have been in operation for at least two years and are adaptable to other institutions. The winners are:

  • Program, Minnesota State University, Mankato
  • Normandale Culture Fest, Normandale Community College
  • Respect and Responsibility Program, St. Cloud State University

Three partnerships received awards for success in reflecting the changing nature of the education landscape through use and integration of new technologies, creative approaches to critical workforce needs and better preparation of under-represented students or newly enrolled students to succeed in their higher education experience. The winners:

  • St. Cloud AmeriCorps Program, a collaboration of St. Cloud State University and the Boys & Girls Clubs of Central Minnesota, the Big Brothers Big Sisters of Central Minnesota, Catholic Charities, RSVP, Stearns County Emergency Management and the United Way of Central Minnesota
  • English for Speakers of Other Languages Institute, a partnership of Century College, Bremer Bank and the Saint Paul Travelers Foundation
  • Associate in Applied Science Degree in Network Technology and Security, a new degree program that built upon seven years of collaboration with Cisco Systems, Inc., a dozen major Minnesota companies and the Minnesota Jobs Skills Partnership Program