Posted: June 10, 2002

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

Gov. Jesse Ventura has named six trustees for Minnesota State Colleges and Universities. Here is the news release from the Governor's office:

Governor Jesse Ventura today announced the appointment of Cheryl Dickson, Clarence Hightower, David Paskach, and Ann Curme Shaw to the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees. They will serve six-year terms that expire on June 30, 2008. The governor also appointed two student members, Vincent Ijioma and Shaun Williams, for two-year terms that expire June 30, 2004.

Dickson, St. Paul, recently completed 24 years as executive director of the Minnesota Humanities Commission and has served on the Citizens Advisory Commission for Minnesota State Colleges and Universities. Dickson will replace Nancy Brataas.

Hightower, Plymouth, is the president and chief executive officer of the Minneapolis Urban League. He will replace Dennis Dotson.

Paskach, Cottonwood, is the executive vice-president of administration and general counsel for Schwan's Sales Enterprises,Inc. in Marshall. He serves on the Southwest State University Foundation. Paskach will replace Robert Erickson.

Curme Shaw, Minnetonka, is the vice-president and associate general counsel for Ceridian Corporation. She serves on the Board of Junior Achievement and is an adjunct at William Mitchell College. Shaw will replace Michael Vekich.

Ijioma, Plymouth, is a student at Hennepin Technical College. He is a member of the Minnesota State College Student Association Governing Council, International Students committee, and a voting member of the National Student Government. Ijioma will replace Joann Splonskowski.

Williams, Cloquet, is a student at Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College. He is the current vice-president for the Minnesota State College Student Organization. He has served on the MnSCU Citizen Advisory Commission and as president and legislative director of the Fond du Lac Student Senate. Williams will replace Joseph Swanson.

MnSCU oversees the technical colleges, community colleges, and state universities and all related property. The board consists of 15 members with at least one member from each congressional district, three student members representing technical colleges, community colleges, and state universities, and four at-large members.