Posted: September 28, 2000

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees today named Roy H. Saigo president of St. Cloud State University. The announcement concludes a year-long search process that began when former president Bruce Grube resigned in March 1999 to become president of Georgia Southern University. Since Grube resigned, Suzanne Williams has served as interim president.

Saigo has been serving as chancellor for Auburn University Montgomery in Montgomery, Alabama since 1994. From 1990 to 1994 he served as provost and vice president for academic and student affairs for Southeastern Louisiana University in Hammond, Louisiana. Prior to that, Saigo was dean of the College of Natural Sciences at the University of Northern Iowa in Cedar Falls, Iowa from 1984 to 1990. He held leadership and faculty positions at the University of Wisconsin - Eau Claire from 1976 through 1984.

"Roy Saigo understands the challenges facing today's universities, and has the leadership capacity and experience to carry St. Cloud State University into a bright future," said Michael Vekich, chair of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees.

Saigo has a Ph.D. in botany and plant pathology from Oregon State University in Corvallis, Oregon and a bachelor's degree in biological science from the University of California at Davis.

The national search was conducted by a committee chaired by Dr. Roland Barden, president of Moorhead State University. Finalists for the St. Cloud State University presidency were forwarded to Chancellor Morris J. Anderson, who interviewed them along with two members of the MnSCU Board of Trustees. Finalists also met with students and faculty groups on the St. Cloud State campus. Anderson selected Saigo and today recommended his appointment to the Board of Trustees.

St. Cloud State University is the largest undergraduate university in Minnesota serving more than 15,000 students each year. The university offers more than 20 nationally acredited programs and is one of 207 schools in the country named National Merit sponor for its strong record in attracting National Merit finalists.