Posted: September 22, 1998

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

The Minnesota State Colleges and Universities Board of Trustees has elected officers for their new year, which begins October 1. Michael M. Vekich, St. Louis Park, will continue as chair of the board; Robert Erickson, Bloomington, will serve as vice chair; James Wafler, Little Canada, will become secretary and Nancy Brataas, Rochester, will become treasurer.

At their September 18 meeting, the board also voted to reduce the number of committees from seven to five in an effort to streamline operations. The five committees are the executive committee, the education policy committee, the finance and facility policy committee, the personnel policy committee and the audit committee. The duties of the former facility policy committee will be merged into the finance and facility policy committee. The work of the board operations committee will be folded into the responsibilities of the executive committee.

Committee chairs will be named at the board's October meeting.