Posted: June 15, 1998

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

Seven students enrolled at Minnesota State University-Akita have received 12-month scholarships from the Association of International Education, Japan.

Each student will receive $350 a month. The money will enable them to extend their stay in Japan through next year's fall and winter sessions.

"We are particularly pleased because Minnesota State University-Akita received the maximum number of awards available to us for this academic year," said John Keller, director of student development and affirmative action for the Akita campus. He noted that the campus is eligible for a certain number of awards based on student enrollment. The awards are based on academic performance.

The students receiving the awards are: Amanda Craven of Rochester Community College, Todd Crawford of the University of Tennessee, Matthew Johnson and Tana Reisenauer of Mankato State University, Adria Lovaas of Central Lakes College, Natalie Lui of Bemidji State University and Maria Murphy of St. Cloud State University.