Posted: January 15, 1998

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

University of Minnesota President Mark Yudof and Morris Anderson, chancellor of the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, signed a cooperation compact today (Thursday, Jan. 15) in which they agreed that their systems will work together to expand access to higher education opportunities for Minnesotans.

The Minnesota Public Higher Education Compact calls for joint long-range planning conducted through an Inter-System Policy Committee, co-chaired by the chief academic officers of the University of Minnesota and the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities.

Among the goals of the compact are:

  • to make it easier for students to transfer between the two systems;
  • to establish more cooperative degree programs, allowing students to take courses at the state colleges and universities and apply them toward University of Minnesota degrees ;
  • to share library resources and student service systems;
  • to share technological resources such as on-line job-search software, career development resources and distance education classrooms; and
  • to better meet workforce needs in technology, health care, agriculture, and other fields.

"While we acknowledge and respect that each system has a distinct mission and charter," Anderson and Yudof said in a joint statement, "we also recognize that meaningful partnerships and collaborations are an important way to serve the state and contribute to student success."

The two systems already cooperate on 58 projects, which will serve as models for the more comprehensive cooperation called for in the compact. The most visible example is the University Center Rochester, where courses and programs from the University of Minnesota, Rochester Community and Technical College and Winona State University are provided to the Rochester community under one roof.

Minnesota Virtual University, another major collaborative effort, aims to be the digital "front door" for all Minnesota citizens to get better access to post-secondary instruction and other services.

The University of Minnesota, founded in 1851, is the state's land-grant institution and its major research university. It has four campuses, in the Twin Cities, Duluth, Morris and Crookston.