Posted: October 17, 1996

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

The newly created multi-college district composed of Mesabi Range Community and Technical College and Vermilion Community College has been given a name. The district, with campuses in Eveleth, Virginia and Ely, will be called Laurentian Community and Technical College District.

The name was approved on Wednesday, October 16, by the Board of Trustees of Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU), based on the recommendation of Chancellor Judith Eaton.

The district was created last July 1 - the same day when a consolidation took effect between the former Mesabi Community College in Virginia and Range Technical College, Eveleth.

Jon Harris, the president of the district, recommended the name for the new district to Chancellor Eaton. He was advised by a Name Search Committee that included representatives from the three campuses and their communities. The committee sought active participation from students, staff and the communities, and a total of 40 possible names were submitted.

The "Laurentian" name was the strong preference of the committee and of people who were polled. The name refers to the Laurentian Shield, an ancient mountainous bedrock formation that runs through the region, and to the Laurentian Divide, the high point of the Shield.

The Laurentian Community and Technical College District serves approximately 2,400 students. It is a member of MnSCU, a system of community colleges, technical colleges and state universities serving more than 151,000 students at campuses in 46 communities around the state.