Posted: April 22, 1996

Contact: Doug Anderson,, 651-201-1426

A tentative contract settlement has been reached between the Inter Faculty Organization (IFO), representing state university faculty members, and the Minnesota State Colleges and Universities (MnSCU), it was announced today by MnSCU Chancellor Judith Eaton and Dr. Edgar Twedt, president of the IFO.

Details of the agreement will not be released publicly until a ratification vote is completed by IFO members. The terms have been recommended by the IFO bargaining team and president for acceptance.

The IFO ratification vote and action by the MnSCU Board of Trustees should be completed in May. If accepted, the agreement then will be sent to the Minnesota Legislature's Joint Subcommittee on Employee Relations (JSER) for approval or rejection. If approved by the JSER, it will be submitted to the 1997 Legislature. (Once the contract is approved by the JSER, it can be implemented at the universities.)

The agreement was reached with the assistance of State Mediator Alan Olson. The two parties mutually petitioned the Minnesota Bureau of Mediation Services for help in forming the contract. The bargaining started in June 1995.

Eaton and Twedt expressed appreciation to the negotiating teams for their hard work in reaching consensus on both job-related language and economic issues. They also thanked the mediator for his important role in developing a settlement.

Once approved, the collective bargaining agreement will be in effect until June 30, 1997. The IFO represents approximately 2,300 faculty at the seven state universities and at Minnesota State University-Akita in Japan.

Contract negotiations also have been completed with the Minnesota Community College Faculty Association. Negotiations continue with the United Technical College Educators.

The state universities are member institutions of Minnesota State Colleges and Universities, a system that also includes the state's community colleges and technical colleges. MnSCU serves more than 151,000 students in 46 communities around the state.